Loader image
Loader image
Back to Top

The Realm of Mantaras

Mantaras is a realm that lies in eastern Norlandía. Sat on the edge of the Sea of Fate Mantaras is a realm of differing fortunes; half its population are content and exist comfortably while the other half are starving and live in squalor. Even the realm’s cities are mirror opposites, if Yavalon is the jewel in the Mantarasian crown then Shadowvale would surely be the thorn in its side.

Insignia:                     Horse
Ruled By:                   Dar Royal Family
Capital City:               Yavalon
Other Cities:              Shadowvale
                                    Raven’s Hill
Villages/Towns:         Arroncöl
Ports:                           Port of Lanthorn
                                     Oakbóral Port
Ruins:                          No Ruins
Resources:                  Food Crops

The City of Shadowvale

For every capital city or place of prominence there is somewhere that the rulers of that realm wish they could erase from the map; Shadowvale is that place. Each time a rebellion or uprising materialises its origins can be traced back to Shadowvale. Religious sects and cults operate with impunity, unchecked by a transient lord whose loyalty extends to the width of a coin.

Cults have been banned in Mantaras for over a hundred years, much to the anger of the temples. They once served as the eyes and ears of the high priests, who in turn carry out the bidding of the gods. In the capital city of Yavalon they are quashed almost as soon as they are found but in the outlying towns and cities, far away from the reach of the royal seer council, they are still rife.


Surely one of the strangest type of cults are those dedicated to Dhalfire, the God of Death. After years of worshipping these cults attempt to contact and summon him. If by some chance they actually succeed the god of death appears and asks why he has been beckoned. The cultists then drink a fast-acting poison and die at Dhalfire’s feet leaving the god more than a little bemused.

The Thirteen


Separator image

The lands within the Northern Realms range from arid deserts to frozen tundra, and the vast majority of them are filled with untamed wilderness and untold dangers

The Ruins of Argdönsgate

The Realm of Ashensörth

The people of Ashensörth are guarded and furtive and so it is apt that Ashensörth has adopted the Shield as its emblem


The Realm of Caulderon

The forests of Caulderon are vast and expansive covering over half the realm and so the emblem of Caulderon is the Tree

Blackwood Forest

The Realm of Delathorn

The stone masons of Delathorn are the most experienced in the Northern Realms which is why the Castle is the emblem of their realm

The City of Neotherm

The Realm of Frigöris

Frigöris is a realm of ice and snow where warlords and tribes battle for the realm’s meagre resources. The emblem of Frigöris is the Bear

The City of Thanatüs

The Realm of Kankulēsis

The realm of Kankulēsis is known for its harsh laws and war-like tendencies proving that it is no coincidence the realm’s emblem is Crossed Axes

The City of Wittinshade

The Realm of Landledusk

The greatest navy in the Northern Realms belong to the realm of Landledusk which is why they adopted the Ship as its emblem

The City of Shadowvale

The Realm of Mantaras

The Horse is the emblem of Mantaras due to the fact that Mantarasian horses of pure stock are faster than those in the other realms

The City of Helystus

The Realm of Narquiss

The warriors of Narquiss are trained from their early teens and are ferocious in battle. It is their Horse Hair Helms that is the emblem of the realm

The Town of Pinedale

The Realm of Pholôs

Pholôs is a realm of contrasts; some cities are a beacon of civilization while the others are a pit of vipers. The Cobra is the emblem of Pholôs

The Town of Barrenstone

The Realm of Tantoräc

Tantoräc is an untamed realm of forests and mountains. Wars with neighbouring realms has left Tantoräc in disarray. The Wolf is the emblem of this realm

The City of Dragonov

The Realm of Umberöc

Umberöc is made up of five islands each with a city at its core. Dragons nest on the surface of each island and it is they which is the emblem of this realm

The City of Dolasie

The Realm of Valadöria

The realm of Valadöria is famed for its storms and tempests leading its Royal Household to adopt the Lightning Strike as the emblem of the realm

The City of Perethos

The Realm of Varahil

Varahil is a proud and noble realm whose gold mines ensure their army is both well equipped and well paid. The Eagle is the emblem of this realm

Strikingly Original In Its Scope

"Shadowless is a debut that is strikingly original in scope, execution and plot. I loved how the author presented a world that while alien, struck a chord in my mind."

- Fantasy Book Critic

Grim And Fascinating

"Grim and fascinating, Shadowless is a masterpiece told in shades of grey. It is a fantasy of the epic variety, one with incredible world building."

- Grimdark Magazine

Full Of Adventure

"This book is full of adventure, it's also grim and gory and even sad. But the individual character exploration, the main plot, the variety of unique settings and well-placed twists made for a smooth reading experience! "

- Cover to Cover