Loader image
Loader image
Back to Top

The Realm of Narquiss

Narquiss is a realm that lies in the south-west of Norlandía. Rocky and barren over half of Narquiss is covered in mountains or desert and the vast majority of its inhabitants are nomadic. The realm’s capital was once a coastal city called Artoria, that stood on the edge of the Verboten Sea. When the people of Artoria refused to give up a shadowless girl, Kröm – the God of the Sea, destroyed the city with tidal waves hundreds of feet high. After that fateful day the capital city was moved to Helystus and those without a shadow were killed on sight.

Insignia:                     Horse Hair Helm
Ruled By:                   Morcheúx Royal Family
Capital City:               Helystus
Other Cities:              Xatharak
Villages/Towns:         Swaxlöw
Ports:                           Port Shalíon
Ruins:                          The Ruins Artoria
Resources:                  Cotton
                                      Precious Stones

The City of Helystus

Covered primarily in desert the Realm of Narquiss is a harsh and unforgiving land whose people share similar traits. While other realms have changed hands every few centuries due to wars or fractured bloodlines Narquiss has remained constant, ruled by the Morcheúx Royal Family for almost seven hundred years. The realm has never yielded nor been conquered.

Helystus now stands as the capital of Narquiss after Kröm, the God of the Sea, destroyed the previous capital for not killing a shadowless girl found hiding in the city. Kröm sent tidal waves hundreds of feet high against Artoria. For five days and five nights he pounded the city with mountains of water until its defences crumbled.


In the middle of the Ioleasis Desert lies the town of Deepsand. Over a hundred miles for the nearest settlement the people of Deepsand farm fungus and get their water from underground springs. Constructed entirely of wood the town is propped up on stilts and is surrounded by miles of quicksand making it one of the safest, if not remotest, places in the Northern Realms.

The Thirteen


Separator image

The lands within the Northern Realms range from arid deserts to frozen tundra, and the vast majority of them are filled with untamed wilderness and untold dangers

The Ruins of Argdönsgate

The Realm of Ashensörth

The people of Ashensörth are guarded and furtive and so it is apt that Ashensörth has adopted the Shield as its emblem


The Realm of Caulderon

The forests of Caulderon are vast and expansive covering over half the realm and so the emblem of Caulderon is the Tree

Blackwood Forest

The Realm of Delathorn

The stone masons of Delathorn are the most experienced in the Northern Realms which is why the Castle is the emblem of their realm

The City of Neotherm

The Realm of Frigöris

Frigöris is a realm of ice and snow where warlords and tribes battle for the realm’s meagre resources. The emblem of Frigöris is the Bear

The City of Thanatüs

The Realm of Kankulēsis

The realm of Kankulēsis is known for its harsh laws and war-like tendencies proving that it is no coincidence the realm’s emblem is Crossed Axes

The City of Wittinshade

The Realm of Landledusk

The greatest navy in the Northern Realms belong to the realm of Landledusk which is why they adopted the Ship as its emblem

The City of Shadowvale

The Realm of Mantaras

The Horse is the emblem of Mantaras due to the fact that Mantarasian horses of pure stock are faster than those in the other realms

The City of Helystus

The Realm of Narquiss

The warriors of Narquiss are trained from their early teens and are ferocious in battle. It is their Horse Hair Helms that is the emblem of the realm

The Town of Pinedale

The Realm of Pholôs

Pholôs is a realm of contrasts; some cities are a beacon of civilization while the others are a pit of vipers. The Cobra is the emblem of Pholôs

The Town of Barrenstone

The Realm of Tantoräc

Tantoräc is an untamed realm of forests and mountains. Wars with neighbouring realms has left Tantoräc in disarray. The Wolf is the emblem of this realm

The City of Dragonov

The Realm of Umberöc

Umberöc is made up of five islands each with a city at its core. Dragons nest on the surface of each island and it is they which is the emblem of this realm

The City of Dolasie

The Realm of Valadöria

The realm of Valadöria is famed for its storms and tempests leading its Royal Household to adopt the Lightning Strike as the emblem of the realm

The City of Perethos

The Realm of Varahil

Varahil is a proud and noble realm whose gold mines ensure their army is both well equipped and well paid. The Eagle is the emblem of this realm

Strikingly Original In Its Scope

"Shadowless is a debut that is strikingly original in scope, execution and plot. I loved how the author presented a world that while alien, struck a chord in my mind."

- Fantasy Book Critic

Grim And Fascinating

"Grim and fascinating, Shadowless is a masterpiece told in shades of grey. It is a fantasy of the epic variety, one with incredible world building."

- Grimdark Magazine

Full Of Adventure

"This book is full of adventure, it's also grim and gory and even sad. But the individual character exploration, the main plot, the variety of unique settings and well-placed twists made for a smooth reading experience! "

- Cover to Cover